Holiday Pick-Me-Up

Posted on December 11, 2014

0


The holidays are my most favorite time of year, however lovely they are, they can also be demanding, consuming and draining.

I’ve discovered simple little things that have helped me this holiday season thus far and are also great gift ideas.

Self-Care

Self-care is extremely important for the holidays. As I’m rushing around getting gifts for loved ones, I sometimes forget myself. It is very easy to lose your sanity amidst the holiday chaos. So I try to do things that make me feel happy and centered. Here’s my self-care Keep Calm & Carry On DIY Kit:

L’Occitane En Provence Arlesienne Shower Cream $20

THIS is my favorite shower cream right now. I’m not a big perfume person because too much tends to remind me of Bingo night, but this is light, floral and I can layer with the line’s perfume. I’ve been searching for a replacement to my favorite all-time perfume Philosophy’s Baby Grace, and this is the only thing that has matched it! Sorry Baby Grace, have to put you in a corner.

Craft Coffee

I need JAVA to keep me going this season, what better way than to do it with a local roaster or crafted coffee company? Don’t get me wrong, I love my soy, white mocha Starbucks but I just genuinely love coffee in general.

Brooklyn Roasting Co. (Mugs, $6 each)

I used to live in New York and when I get homesick I just bring little pieces of home to me. Artfully clad, Brooklyn Roasting Co. is my favorite location in New York to have coffee. Many of the roasts are from fair trade, organic and Rain Forest Certified beans. Oh and these mugs are awesome.

Sweat it Out

Holidays are a busy time of year and all of that running around leaves little time for workouts. When I can’t fit a workout in my schedule I do mini workouts in 10-15 minute spurts to help maintain my road to holiday haute-ness.

Evolution: The Cutting Edge Guide to Breaking Down Mental Walls and Building the Body You’ve Always Wanted by Joe Manganiello, Kindle $11.99 Amazon, wherever books are sold, Local Library

True Blood’s Alcide anyone? This book right now is saving my fitness. I’ve been delving deep into the best way to say no to cupcakes (there’s no 12 step program for this) this season and yes to more fitness. The book is precisely what it’s title delivers-breaking down mental walls, with expert nutrition advice, fitness diagrams and Joe’s personal fitness journey; sure to inspire any tired Mommy, couch surfer, and or beginning fitness enthusiast.

For more holiday tips & gift ideas stay tuned!

XOXO, Jessica

Posted in: Uncategorized